Skip to content

Why I’ve opted for gun control over libertarianism

August 24, 2012

Image

This guy.

I need to get a haircut today and the thought has crossed my mind as to what to say to the barber. They typically ask something like, “What are we doing for you today?” My first idea was to say, “Just imagine that I’m going into court, and I don’t want to look like a weirdo, like that guy from Colorado that shot all those people like fish in a barrel.”

But that’s besides the point. Hard libertarians take the position that the state has no authority to restrict this crazy guy’s right to possess a firearm. The reasoning is that it was the personal, individual responsibility of those that were shot to arm themselves as well. Makes no sense to me. One persons rights shouldn’t burden others to the extent that I have to carry a firearm to protect myself from your rights.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

